Untitled Document
Untitled Document
Historical information
Natural Resources
Seven Emirates
Culture & Heritage
Traditional Occupation
Appropriate Behavior
Traditional Sports
The United Arab Emirates (UAE) comprises the seven member states of Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ajman, Umm Al Quwain, Ras Al Khaimah and Fujairah. The city of Abu Dhabi is the capital.
The total area of the country is about 83,600 square km. Abu Dhabi is by far the largest Emirate, occupying approximately 87% of the total area of UAE territory. Dubai, with an area of 3885 square km, is the second largest Emirate. Situated on the banks of the Dubai Creek, a natural inlet from the Arabian Gulf which divides the city into the Deira district to its north and Bur Dubai to its south, the city ranks as the UAE's most important port and commercial center.
The UAE has 700 km of coastline, of which 100 km are on the Gulf of Oman. Along the Arabian Gulf coast there are offshore islands, coral reefs and sabkha or saltmarshes. Stretches of gravel plain and sandy desert characterise the inland region.
To the east, the Hajjar mountains lie close to the Gulf of Oman and form a backbone through the Mussandam Peninsula. The western interior of the country, most of it in Abu Dhabi, consists mainly of desert interspersed with oases.
Designed &Created By HIRAKEE